The four countries of the UK

Since devolution, the health systems in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have all pursued different policies, with different funding and priorities. This spotlight draws together our analysis comparing the four countries.


Published: 03/02/2015

The four health systems of the UK: How do they compare?

11/04/2014Professor Gwyn Bevan | Marina Karanikolos | Josephine Exley | Ellen Nolte | Sheelah Connolly | Professor Nicholas Mays


This report assesses the performance of the NHS on the quality of patient care in all four UK countries since devolution.

Fact or fiction? Politicians make a difference to health sys...

02/04/2015Ian Blunt


Do the choices of political parties really make that much of a difference to health system performance? Ian Blunt explores.

Beyond the politics: the truth behind the UK health systems

11/04/2014Andy McKeon


What is the truth of comparisons across the UK, and what does it mean for the future of the NHS?

Lies, damned lies and statistics

27/01/2010Dr Jennifer Dixon CBE