Nuffield Trust announces new Director of Research and Policy

Dr Becks Fisher has been appointed as the new Director of Research and Policy at the Nuffield Trust.


Published: 27/03/2024

Dr Becks Fisher has been appointed as the new Director of Research and Policy at the Nuffield Trust think tank. She will assume the role at the Nuffield Trust in July, heading up the think tank’s team of expert researchers in health and social care policy and playing an active role in the leadership of the organisation.

Becks is currently senior policy fellow at the Health Foundation, where she leads the organisation’s primary care portfolio. She is also a salaried GP in a deprived urban area.

Becks joins the Nuffield Trust having recently spent a year in the US as a Harkness Fellow, researching the organisation and management of primary care. She has published and presented widely, served on multiple national advisory groups, and is co-founder of Next Generation GP – a national leadership programme for early-career GPs.

Commenting on Becks’s appointment, Thea Stein, Chief Executive of the Nuffield Trust, said:

“I am delighted that Becks Fisher will be joining the Nuffield Trust to lead our excellent team of researchers and policy experts. With an election on the horizon and the NHS and social care under extreme and continuing pressures, the need for robust and impactful research and evidence on health and care couldn’t be clearer.”

Dr Becks Fisher said:

“This is an incredible opportunity to join the Nuffield Trust and work with such a talented group of colleagues, under Thea’s leadership. The Nuffield Trust plays a vital role in bringing rigour and evidence to the debate on the future shape of health and care services. I’m looking forward to playing my part.”

Prior to working at the Health Foundation, Becks was a National Medical Director’s clinical fellow to Sir Bruce Keogh, and an academic clinical fellow at the University of Oxford. She completed her medical training at the University of Cambridge, graduating with the Roger Morris prize for medicine and surgery.


Notes to editors